Monster Hunter Generations

It took a long while, but Capcom and Nintendo finally got Monster Hunter X into the hands of non-Japanese audiences. If you are not already familiar with the Monster Hunter series, this is the game to get into. Even players who have looked at Monster Hunter and thought it might be a little too complicated will have an easier time with this.

However, that is not to say this is now a simplified version! It has more of everything, something from all of the previous games, but is more intuitive for newer players.monster2

Monster Hunter

The Monster Hunter series are role-playing games where you find and capture or kill monsters. Familiar to role-playing enthusiasts, the game is based generally around increasing your ability to fight these monsters, which means grinding for equipment, collecting materials, crafting upgrades, and min/maxing the gear you have available.

In non-RPG-familiar terms, this means: finding stuff through repeated actions and using the stuff, you have in a good way, finding villages and receiving quests to fight monsters. What hooks people into Monster Hunter is the action-filled fighting mechanics and depth of the game in general.

What’s New?

Every single aspect of the game has been either polished or expanded on in Monster Hunter Generations. This means that it will be both familiar to previous players and easier to get into for new players. The heavy focus on this game is to find your own style to play it. You always have the same quests and the same wealth of monsters to fight, but the way you do it is completely up to you.monster1The Hunter Arts and Styles are the main ways a player can optimise this, but new armour and weapons systems also give a lot of room for personalisation. The multiplayer is effortlessly available online, without the game being either an MMO or a constant co-op choice. You can simply join up with a crew for certain quests, or you can avoid it if you would rather play solo. In addition, you can play as Felyne!

Hunter Arts and Styles

What is completely new for Generations is the Style and Art specialisations. These two work together and you can develop your own unique way of playing the game. Similar to most other parts of the game, fully discovering how all this works is in part a lifestyle, but the theory is easy enough to get started with. The Styles, of which are 4 depend on which of the 14 weapons you choose.

The Guild is mostly like the previous games, which for new players would mean that compared to other Styles, this is the most overall balanced; the Striker gives extra power to the heavy-hitting Arts moves; the Aerial provides aerial attacks, for when you need to get on top of a monster; and the Adept gives you more dodging capabilities. The Hunting Arts are special moves you can charge by fighting monsters and depending on what style you have chosen the move will have different effects, ranging from dodges and healing to extra damage and counters.

Prowler Mode

The great extra that needs mentioning is the Prowler Mode. This allows you to control Felyne, the cat sidekick of the hunter. However, playing as Felyne is not to be underestimated as it can be just as effective as any of the other styles in the game, and, according to the developers, it is a great way for new players to learn the mechanics of monster fighting.